We Are Family (Get Used to It)   Leave a comment

I think that one reason I’d really like to be dating someone, other than the obvious benefits, is that I’d like to be able to take someone I care about home to meet my family.

Look, I know I’m talking about potential love interests and such a lot lately, but it’s my blog and I’ll do whatever the (explicative deleted) I want with it.

Anyway, where was I? Family. My family is the most important thing in the world to me. I honestly believe that part of the reason I’m having such a hard time being here at college and feeling so listless is that I am four hours away from the place I still consider my home. There are so many sensory memories that always come to mind when I think of it. Ironically curling up into a tiny ball in my queen sized bed. Waving my hands moronically at the motion sensor light in the basement that has once again decided that I’m invisible. Lying on the floor with my dog and wrapping my arms around his neck because he is just so adorable. Laughing with my brother over some stupid joke we saw on TV. Rolling my eyes at my dad every time he puts on his childlike voice to tease me. Sprawling at the foot of my mom’s bed while she and I talk before she goes to sleep early for her job the next morning. Eating casseroles. Sitting down for dinner as a family. Being able to walk through a kitchen without stepping in something sticky.

Then there’s the warmth I feel for my family, a feeling that can’t be beat. Sometimes we misunderstand each other, but I’m very greatful to have aunts, uncles, and cousins who all live so close to me that I see most of them on a regular basis and all holidays. Sometimes Aaron and I just sit in the living room and talk about whatever comes to mind. It doesn’t matter what it is really. The way my Aunt Tami helps me out with all of my projects that are even vaguely art related. The joy I get from seeing Natalie plow through book after book the way I did when I was her age.

I could never be away from my family. I’ve thought about this a lot, especially as it pertains to my future. When I grow up, I can’t really imagine myself living that far away from where I live now. I’m so used to everyone being within a short drive (with the recent exception of Melissa et al) that I can’t even fathom settling down here. It has been an okay school to attend and I’ve made some interesting acquaintances, but nothing is really holding me here.

I do worry a little bit that if I do meet someone he might live down here. I do not want to do long distance and would not be willing to stay down here, so that pretty much does it. Even someone who lived in the city would seem far away to me, though I could maybe be more accepting of that distance.

A month ago my cousin Sarah surprised all of us by announcing on Facebook that she and her fiance were leaving to Vegas (not just for the heck of it) to get married and inviting anyone who wanted to see them off to stop by the house for a party that night. Okay, so some people probably knew before that, but I was out of the loop. There was no way I was going to be able to be back home the same day. I felt so sad about it because I really wanted to be there.

I want to be able to hear about something my family is doing and be there the same day. I don’t want to have to plan out every camping trip or impromptu meal. If I’m ever asked to choose between work and family, I will choose family every time because they are the most important thing in the world to me. I guess it’s just the slight smidgeon of Hufflepuff in me. Not too much though, because God knows I’m not that hardworking.

I’m craving one of my mom’s cheeseburgers so hardcore right now. I don’t know what she does to them that makes them better than any other cheeseburger I’ve ever had, but my mouth is practically watering just thinking about them.

Posted November 7, 2010 by Kristen in Blog

Leave a Reply

