Falling in Love to Half Time   Leave a comment

I don’t think I woud be exaggerating if I said that I’ve had a love affair with music since I was very young. My first songs were mostly all Disney, of course. I still remember standing with my cousin at the top of the staircase to her room and belting out “Colors of the Wind” for her mother. This same aunt later remarked that it was good that Melissa could sing and I knew all the words. Okay, I don’t remember exactly what she said, but that’s how my eight year old brain remembered it.

When I was in private school, most of my singing came from church music we would have to learn for the twice a month during the week Mass we were required to attend. It was my favorite part of the service and probably the only part I remembered afterward for most of my childhood. I particularly recall this one song that was very entrancing because it didn’t sound much like a normal church song. It was called “See How the Virgin Waits” (or at least something like that) and it was about the Virgin Mary in the days anticipating the birth of Jesus. One of the verses was something like, “Now a new pattern on the loom. Now a new presence in the room. What is she thinking as the sun is sinking waiting the birthday of the Son of God?”

Of course, later I developed interest in popular music as well. My iTunes account holds 5789 songs at this very moment. I got a treble clef tattooed on my hip. When I’m experiencing new music, I like to just lie in my bed and let it wash over me. I do this with particularly powerful favorites as well. The feelings I get when I hear a song that matches my moods are the most amazing thing. I can’t even explain how great it feels to know that someone else, somewhere, gets it. That music spreads over me and I just want to roll my hips and shake my hair and do whatever I can to express physically what the song makes me feel. I once composed an impromptu ballet in my kitchen to a song below.

I want to lay out a playlist here and today I’m going to focus on songs that describe the way I hope I’ll feel when I’m in love for the first time, because it’s something I talked about a couple of days ago. It’s not about crazy passion or hot sex a lot of the time. It’s about the overwhelming emotion you can feel in the simplest of moments. It’s not always happy, but the strong warmth inside is well worth every moment.

Aly & AJ – Chemicals React
Avenue Q – Fantasies Come True
Bad English – When I See You Smile
The Beatles – Something
Betty Everett – It’s in His Kiss
The Butterbeer Experience – Chapter 34
Chris Colfer – I Wanna Hold Your Hand
Counting Crows – Accidentally in Love
Dana Fuchs – Don’t Let Me Down
Dashboard Confessional – As Lovers Go
Def Leppard – When Love and Hate Collide
Destiny’s Child – Brown Eyes
Drake Bell – Up Periscope
Etta James – At Last
Fall Out Boy – Grand Theft Autumn
Gavin Degraw – In Love with a Girl
Gene Kelly – Almost like Being in Love
Hedley – Sweater Song
Jaime Lyn Beatty – Harry
Jennifer Hudson – Love You I Do
Jeremy Kay – Weight in Gold
Jersey Boys – December 1963
Jim Sturgess – I’ve Just Seen a Face
Jonas Brothers – Lovebug
Katy Perry – Teenage Dream
Keith Urban – I Could Fly
Leonard Cohen – Hallelujah
Mandy Moore – Gardenia
Matthew Morrison – Tell Me Something Good
McFly – Little Joanna
Mike Lombardo – Hey Molly*
Nat King Cole – Unforgettable
Nitty Gritty Dirt Band – You and Me Go Fishing in the Dark
Olivia Olson – All I Want for Christmas is You
Paramore – The Only Exception
Quietdrive – Time After Time
Robin Thicke – When I Get You Alone
Rufus Wainwright – Bewitched
Sam Sparro – Black and Gold
Shawn Kane – You Send Me
Skye Sweetnam – Tangled Up in Me
Spring Awakening – Touch Me
Stereopath – Losing It
Sutton Foster – Gimme Gimme
Teddy Geiger – For You I Will

Posted November 6, 2010 by Kristen in Blog

Leave a Reply

